myCarStats.com provides consumers free car reports and safety products since 2001.



Like Us On Facebook

Safety Station Reporting for 2011 Demo Car

Car Reports Database Updated 9/18/2012 5:48:59 AM
  GUEST DASHBOARD For 2011 DEMO CAR 
Member Rating: n/a  |  View All Demo Ratings   |   View Member Reviews  | View Car Buzz Summary
 In the past 24 hours, 6,060 other users have researched their vehicle with myCarStats.
 Car Report Viewer is NOT Activated.   Get Free Activation
   CAR REPORT VIEWER for 2011 DEMO CAR 
 Consumer Complaint Reports Now Loaded 

There is 1 Saved Car in Your List   |  Add Another Car to List  |  Remove Current Car from List   
Select a Model Car from your List to View    
Click on Tab to Load Desired CAR REPORT TYPE in Viewer Click on Tab to Load 
Desired
REPORT AGE 

Complaints 58

Car Recall 3

Bulletins 18

Investigations 0


ALL

NEWEST
  Reports   Component Group Affected      --- Action ---
4
Air Bags, Seats, Seat Belt Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10467224

Component: SEATS

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH THREE CHILD RESTRAINT SEAT LATCH ANCHORS IN THE REAR SEAT AREA. THE SEAT WITH THE ONE ANCHOR INSTALLATION PREVENTED A CHILD SEAT TO BE POSITIONED IN THAT SPECIFIC SEAT. THE CONTACT WAS DISPLEASED TO KNOW THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESIGNED FOR TWO REAR FACING CHILD RESTRAINT SEATS TO BE POSITIONED IN DIFFERENT REAR SEATS AT THE SAME TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WERE CERTAIN MODELS DESIGNED WITH FOUR REAR SEAT LATCH ANCHORS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. ...UPDATED 08-10-12 *BF UPDATED 08/14/2012 *JS.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/15/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 7/24/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10447472

Component: AIR BAGS

Details: MY SON WAS DRIVING HIS 2011 FORD EDGE DOWN A BUSY ROAD AT NIGHT WHEN ANOTHER DRIVER CUT RIGHT IN FRONT OF HIM. HE HIT THE BRAKES BUT THE ROAD WAS WET AND THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. TO AVOID A FRONT COLLISION WITH THE OTHER DRIVER HE TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT AND THAT MADE HIM LOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR. HE HIT A TREE, HIS CAR SPUN ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE ROAD HITTING THE SIDEWALK AND CRASHING THE SIDE PASSENGER DOOR AGAINST A STREET SIGN. THE CAR IS TOTALED (WE BELIEVE). THE FRONT WAS DESTROYED, AND THE TWO FRONT WHEELS SMASHED. THE IMPACT WAS SO STRONG THAT THE BACK LIGHTS WERE THROWN 30 METERS AWAY FROM THE CAR. PASSENGER DOOR WAS STUCK AND THE WINDSHIELD BROKEN. WHAT CONCERNS ME IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. EVERYBODY AT THE SCENE OF THE ACCIDENT , FROM THE RESCUER TO THE TOW COMPANY, COMMENTED ON THAT FACT. MY SON IS FINE ( THANK GOD FOR SEATBELTS) AND NOBODY WAS HURT, BUT IF YOU JUST SEE THE CAR IT IS UNBELIEVABLE THAT NO AIRBAG DEPLOYED . IT IS NOT RIGHT THAT AFTER BUYING A CAR AND WORRYING ABOUT SO MANY THINGS THAT CAN GO WRONG IN TRAFFIC I HAVE TO WORRY IF THE AIRBAGS ARE WORKING OR NOT. IT IS NOT RESPONSIBLE. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/10/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/11/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10411803

Component: SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:HEAD RESTRAINT

Details: THE HEAD RESTS ON THE NEW FORD EDGE THAT I RECENTLY PURCHASED ARE SO LARGE AND LEAN SO FAR FORWARD THAT THEY MAKE IT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THEY ARE SO BAD THAT SOME OWNERS OF NEW FORD PRODUCTS ARE JUST REMOVING THE HEAD RESTS CREATING A REAL SAFETY HAZARD . I HAVE CONTACTED FORD SEVERAL TIMES WITH OUT SATISFACTION. OUR LOCAL POLICE DEPARTMENT HAS REMOVE THE HEAD RESTS FROM THER NEW EXPOLORER. DO WE WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED OR DO WE TAKE A VERY HARD LOOK AT THEM NOW? I HAVE TRIED TO REVERSE MINE BUT THEN YOU JUST AS WELL REMOVE THEM. I TRIED SWITCHING WITH THE REAR SEAT AND THEY WONT INTERCHANGE. I AM JUST ASKING THAT YOU TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT THEM AND MAKE A DECISION. *TT

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/01/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 7/11/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10403177

Component: SEAT BELTS

Details: REAR SEAT CENTER SEAT BELT LATCH IS IN A LOCATION THAT IS EXTREMELY HARD TO USE AND WHEN THE SEAT BELT DOES GET BUCKLED, IT IS SO UNCOMFORTABLE THAT I HAVE HAD PEOPLE UNBUCKLE. YOU ACTUALLY SIT RIGHT ON THE LATCH WHEN IT IS BUCKLED. THERE REALLY SHOULD BE A FIX AVAILABLE SO THAT THE LATCH END OF THE CENTER BUCKLE CAN BE MOVED OUT OF THE WAY OF WHERE YOU SIT. I CANT IMAGINE HOW A PERSON WITH A CAR SEAT WOULD TRY TO USE THIS.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/01/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

0
Air Conditioner, Heater, Ventilation Reports         No Reports       
0
Brake Reports         No Reports       
0
Child Safety Seat Reports         No Reports       
11
Electrical System Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10470900

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: I PURCHASED MY 2011 FORD EDGE IN DECEMBER OF 2010 AND HAVE NOT HAD A DAY WHEN THERE HASNT BEEN A PROBLEM WITH WITH EITHER THE SYNC OR SIRIUS SYSTEM. I HAVE HAD MY AUTO SERVICED SIX SEPARATE TIMES AND STILL HAVE ISSUES. AMONG THESE SIX VISITS, FOUR INVOLVED EITHER RECALLS OR "FULL FLASH REPROGRAMS," IN ADDITION TO THE MAJOR SOFTWARE UPDATE WITH THE USB FORD SENT OUT. CURRENTLY MY RADIO SUDDENLY SWITCHES BANDS, OR PRESETS MALFUNCTION, AND MY RADIO WONT TURN OFF WITHOUT A COMPLICATED SERIES OF SCREEN ADJUSTMENTS. ALSO WHEN THIS HAPPENS MY MEMORY SEAT FUNCTION IS DISABLED AND NO LONGER WORKS. I CONSIDER THESE PROBLEMS NOT MERELY COSMETIC, BUT FUNCTIONAL SAFETY ISSUES SINCE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CANNOT FIGURE OUT HOW THE RADIO/SYNC ISSUES AFFECT THE MEMORY SEAT FUNCTION AND THUS COULD ULTIMATELY AFFECT A MORE CRITICAL AUTO FUNCTION AND THESE OCCUR WHILE DRIVING WHICH HAS CAUSED ME MOMENTARY DISORIENTATION. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 01/27/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/16/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10450754

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: I PURCHASED A NEW FORD 2011 FORD EDGE IN JULY OF 2010 AND WAS EXTREMELY PLEASED WITH THE PERFORMANCE OF THE CAR AND THE SYNC SYSTEM. AS THE END OF THE YEAR NEARED, THE SYNC SYSTEM STARTED ACTING VERY ERRATIC, BLUETOOTH DISCONNECTING, NAVIGATION SD CARD FAILURE, MAPS EXTREMELY SLOW TO LOAD AND WHEN THE CAR WAS SHUTOFF THE SYNC DID NOT POWER DOWN. ON THEN NEXT POWER UP, IT WOULD DISABLE BLUETOOTH AND NOT ALLOW NAVIGATION SYSTEM TO LOAD. THERE WAS A NEW SOFTWARE UPDATE AVAILABLE FEB 2012 THAT ACCORDING TO THE DESCRIPTION WOULD SOLVE ALL THESE ISSUES. AFTER FINALLY GETTING IT TO LOAD ON A USB STICK FROM THE SYNC SITE AFTER MULTIPLE TRIES, I GOT IT DONE. ALSO CONTACTED FOR SYNC SERVICE AND THEY SAID THERE ARE KNOWN ISSUES WITH THE DOWNLOAD FROM THE SYNC SITE. SOFTWARE WAS LOADED SUCESSFULLY IN THE CAR AND ALAS, IT SEEMED ALL MY PROBLEMS WERE CURED....FOR ABOUT 2 DAYS AND NOW THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM CONTINUES TO TRY LOADING AND THEN DISPLAYS SD CARD FAULT, REALLY HANDY WHEN YOU USE THIS FOR WORK. IVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH FORD AND THEY ADMIT THERE IS A SOFTWARE BUG IN THE LAST RELEASE...WORKING FOR AN ELECTRONICS COMPANY, I WOULD SAY THERE WASNT MUCH VALIDATION DONE. THEY SAID IT WOULD BE A MONTH BEFORE A FIX IS IN PLACE AND WILL MAIL EVERYONE NEW SD CARDS. WHAT A JOKE! MAYBE FORD SHOULD CALL APPLE INSTEAD OF MICROSOFT. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/27/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/8/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10449336

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: PURCHASED MY 2011 EDGE LIMITED DEC. 2010, HAD INTERMITTENT SYNC PROBLEMS STARTING APPROX JUNE 2011. DID AN UPGRADE OFF THE SYNC MY RIDE WEBSITE IN NOV 2011 AND THAT STARTED ALL THE SYNC PROBLEMS. THEY INCLUDE: NAVIGATION FAILURE WHILE ON A TRIP, THAT WAS FUN, BEING LOST WITH 2 CARS OF FAMILY FOLLOWING US. BACKUP CAMERA WORKS OR NOT, DEPENDS ON THE DAY. DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLINKING ON & OFF WHILE DRIVING, BLUETOOTH DISCONNECTING MY PHONE ALMOST EVERYDAY. THE SYNC SYSTEM LIKES TO TURN OFF, BLACK SCREEN, RESETS ITSELF WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING EXCEPT TURNING THE CAR ON! SOMETIMES WHEN I LEAVE THE CAR THE SYNC SYSTEM & RADIO WILL STAY ON EVEN AFTER I LOCK THE CAR. 2X IT HAS GONE TO THE DEALER, 2X I GET THE CAR BACK & AM TOLD I HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT AS THERE IS NO FIX TO THE GLITCH IN THE SYSTEM. SO, 42K FOR A NEW CAR, ALSO PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY, WHEN ALL WARRANTYS ARE EXPIRED WHO WILL PAY FOR FORDS "GLITCH"? I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS CAR TO ANYONE. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 12/05/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/25/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10448892

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH A SYNC SYSTEM WHICH CONTROLLED THE SATELLITE RADIO, GPS NAVIGATION, TOUCH SCREEN FEATURE AND OTHER FUNCTIONS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS THE SATELLITE RADIO, GPS NAVIGATION AND TOUCH SCREEN FEATURE WOULD NOT OPERATE. THERE WERE ALSO OTHER FUNCTIONS WHICH WOULD NOT OPERATE WITHIN THE SYNC SYSTEM. THE FAILURES WERE SPORADIC AND A DISTRACTION WHEN DRIVING. THE VOICE COMMAND WOULD CONTINUOUSLY ACTIVATE WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION WHICH BECAME ANNOYING. THERE WAS A RECALL RELATED TO THE DEFECT UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 11V128000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: SOFTWARE). THE DEALER STATED THE PART WAS NOT CURRENTLY BEING PRODUCED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE ARRIVAL DATE FOR THE RECALL PART. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THE CONTACT TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY WHENEVER A FAILURE OCCURRED WITHIN THE SYNC SYSTEM AND THEN RECONNECT AFTER WAITING FIVE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS BEEN TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER THREE TIMES FOR THE SIMILAR DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT EXPRESSED CONCERN OF A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 01/26/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/22/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10440554

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: THE NAVIGATION IS PROBABLY THE MOST USER UNFRIENDLY UNIT WE HAVE EVER USED AND HAVE WRITTEN THREE TIMES TO CORRECT THE BAD INFORMATION IN IT; I.E. TAKES YOU TO THE WRONG LOCATION. A NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM THAT CANNOT BE TRUSTED IS WORSE THAN NOT HAVING ONE AT ALL. THERE ARE MANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS NAVIGATION SYSTEM IN ADDITION TO THE OTHER SENSOR SAFETY GOODIES ON THIS VEHICLE. THE BLISS IS A SAFETY HAZARD; WORTHLESS. MY SYNC SYSTEM KEEPS BLANKING OUT (REFERRED TO BY EVERYONE AS THE BLACK SCREEN) OR A SCREEN THAT LOCKS UP AND WILL NOT PERFORM ANY FUNCTION WHATSOEVER. WHEN RESEARCHING THIS VEHICLE I FOUND INFORMATION ON THIS PROBLEM AS EARLY AS 2008. I PRINTED ALL THE INFORMATION TO SHOW THE SALESMAN. I HANDED HIM 40 PAGES OF INFORMATION ON THE BLACK SCREEN AND ASKED IF THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM HE SAID NO. WE PURCHASED THE 2011 FORD EDGE LIMITED WITH ALL THE GOODIES. NOW AND SINCE THE LAST ROUND WE EXPERIENCED THE LOCKED SCREEN AGAIN WHICH REQUIRED ANOTHER TRIP TO OUR FORD DEALER. BY THE WAY WE RECEIVED NO PAPER WORK ON THE REPAIR. WE HAVE OVER 15K MILES ON THE VEHICLE NOW AND HAVE HAD EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM NUMEROUS TIMES. THE NAVIGATION AND THE BLISS SYSTEMS ARE NOT ONLY WORTHLESS BUT SAFETY HAZARDS. A $42,000 MISTAKE?? SHAME ON FORD FOR CONTINUING ON SELLING THIS PRODUCT AND OUR GOVERNMENT FOR LETTING THEM DO SO - EVER WONDER WHY THE CONSUMER LOST THEIR FAITH??? FORD - REALLY? *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 07/03/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 12/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10416771

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: VARIOUS PROBLEMS WITH SYNC/COMPUTER SCREEN IN CAR - SIDE WARNING CAR COMING LIGHTS GO ON FOR NO REASON , SCREEN GOES DARK AND BLACK BOX APPEARS IN CENTER INCLUDING WHEN IN REVERSE THUS BLANKING OUT CENTER VISUAL FIELD OF BACK UP CAMERA (SEE CAMERON GULBRANSEN TRANSPORTATION SAFETY ACT FEB 2008). ALL THIS BEGAN AFTER FORD RECALL PROGRAM 10B20 DONE MARCH 29, 2011. IT WORKED PERFECTLY PRIOR TO THAT TIME. CAR WAS BROUGHT BACK TO DEALER AP 2, AP 21, AP 27, MAY 5-9 AND AUG 2 2011 FOR SAME ISSUES. COMPUTER WORKS FOR SHORT TIME THEN PROBLEMS START AGAIN. I DO HAVE A PHOTO IN MY PHONE OF THE BLACK SCREEN HAPPENING WHICH WAS SHOWN TO THE DEALER. IT IS OFTEN TOO UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND TAKE A PHOTO AT THE SAME TIME TO COLLECT BETTER EVIDENCE OF EPISODES SO I ONLY HAVE A COUPLE OF PHOTOS THAT CAME OUT CLEARLY. ALSO VARIOUS OTHER PROBLEMS- PHONE SUDDENLY UNSYNCS ITSELF WHILE DRIVING - I MADE A CALL THEN TRIED TO MAKE A SECOND CALL A FEW MOMENTS LATER AND IT HAD DISCONNECTED FROM CAR INCLUDING ALL 911 SERVICE. WHILE DRIVING ON ROAD WITH NO OTHER CARS NOR OBJECTS, SUDDENLY BEGAN RINGING ALARM AND FLASHING THAT CARS WERE COMING FROM THE SIDES AND THERE WAS NO ONE ON EITHER SIDE AND NO WIND NOR RAIN. WHILE AT DEALER PAST 3 TIMES, DETROIT HOME OFFICE WAS CALLED BY THE DEALER FOR FURTHER ADVICE BY DEALER. *KB

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/29/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/2/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10404457

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: PURCHASED A 2011 FORD EDGE WITH SYNC AND MY FORD TOUCH AFTER THE 3RD TIME THE DEALER FINALLY UPGRADED THE SYSTEM ON THE WITH THE 4TH VISIT WITH AN UPDATE,ONLY HAD THE CAR BACK LESS THEN A WEEK AND NOW THE ENTIRE SYSTEM CRASHED NOTHING WORKS AND I MEAN NOTHING TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO EXCEPT WAIT FOR FORD TO COME OUT WITH A FIX. SPENT OVER 40,000 FOR A LEMON AND A DEALER THAT DOES NOT CARE. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEAS THAT COULD HELP ME OUT WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/25/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/4/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10402447

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 TO 70 MPH WHEN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 200 AND THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 01/25/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/23/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10390213

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: BLUETOOTH INOP ,DOES NOT ALLOW CONNECTIVITY AFTER 3.0 MONTHS. WORKED FINE. EVERYTHING ELSE FUNCTIONS CORRECTLY. LOVE THE VEHICLE. HAVE ALREADY TURNED IT OF THEN BACKON. TRIED ANOTHER PHONE. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/12/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/15/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10386453

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TOUCH SCREEN AND INSTRUMENTAL PANEL FAILED BY NOT DISPLAYING AN ACCURATE READING OF SPEED TRAVELED, GASOLINE FUEL LEVELS, ETC. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE A REMEDY FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 500.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/10/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/4/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10386011

Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENTIRE DASHBOARD SCREEN AND GPS DISPLAY SCREEN FAILED. DURING THE FAILURE, THE BOTH SCREENS DISPLAYED A MESSAGE STATING THAT THE SYSTEM WAS REBOOTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE A SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS INSTALLED. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO RECUR INTERMITTENTLY WHETHER THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION OR AT A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,050. UPDATED 03/10/11*BF UPDATED 1/4/11 *CN

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 01/26/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/1/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

7
Engine and Engine Cooling System Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10463164

Component: ENGINE

Details: MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON THE FREEWAY WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HER VEHICLE WENT "LIMP". WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN "LIMP MODE THERE WAS NO ACCELERATION AND YOU CAN FEEL HUGE VIBRATIONS AS IF THE ENGINE WAS ABOUT TO DIE. SHE WAS FORCED TO MANEUVER HER WAY THROUGH THREE LANES OF TRAFFIC WITH HER HAZARDS ON IN ORDER TO GET TO A "SAFE" SPOT. THE ONLY WAY SHE WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE SITUATION WAS TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE AND RESTART IT. THE ON BOARD COMPUTER HAD A WRENCH LIGHT UP AND A MESSAGE ASKING TO LOOK IN OUR MANUAL. PER OUR MANUAL THIS IS A POWERTRAIN ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWO MORE TIMES IN LESS THAN FOUR DAYS AND TWICE OUR THREE MONTH OLD SON WAS WITH US/HER. MY WIFE IS CURRENTLY TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND SHE JUST CALLED TO INFORM ME THAT IT HAD HAPPENED THE THIRD TIME. THIS IS A DANGEROUS THING AND HAS DISASTER WRITTEN ALL OVER IT! *JB

Occurrences: 3 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/21/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/26/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10444132

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Details: TWICE AFTER BACKING UP AND SHIFTING THE CAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, THE CAR STALLED/SHUT OFF. THE FIRST TIME IT OCCURRED AFTER BACKING ONTO A BUSY STREET. WHILE PUSHING ON THE GAS WITH NO FORWARD MOVEMENT, I SAW A MESSAGE DISPLAYED IN THE DASH THAT THE CAR MUST BE IN PARK TO START. I WAS EXTREMELY LUCKY THAT IN THAT INSTANCE I HAD ENOUGH TIME TO START THE VEHICLE AND MOVE PRIOR TO TRAFFIC REACHING ME AS IT OCCURRED ON A BUSY STREET. THE APPROXIMATE DATE FOR THE FIRST OCCURRENCE WAS IN JUNE OF 2011. THE SECOND WAS ON JULY 5, 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 2,450 MILES. ON NOVEMBER 3, 2011, AND NOVEMBER 29, 2011, MY CARS BATTERY DIED RESULTING IN NEEDING TO CALL FORD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO TOW IT TO THE DEALER. PRIOR TO THAT, I TWICE HAD A BATTERY SAVER MESSAGE DISPLAYED AFTER I SHUT OFF MY CAR, ALTHOUGH EVERYTHING WAS OFF. WHILE AT THE DEALER THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, THE BATTERY DIED FOR THE THIRD TIME AFTER APPROXIMATELY 8 HOURS. THE BATTERY TEST ALWAYS REPORTED THAT THE BATTERY WAS OKAY. AFTER A WEEK AT THE SHOP THEY WERE STILL UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE. TWO TIMES MY VEHICLE WOULD NOT RECOGNIZE THAT I HAD THE KEY IN MY POSSESSION WITHIN THE VEHICLE AND THEREFORE WOULD NOT START. I DO NOT KNOW IF ALL OF THESE ISSUES ARE POSSIBLY INTERCONNECTED WITH THE COMPUTER SYSTEM.

Occurrences: 2 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/01/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 1/9/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10419783

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH AND ACCELERATING, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN EXHAUST SMELL EMITTING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS FOUR DIFFERENT TIMES. THE TECHNICIANS STATED THE SMELL WAS CAUSED BY FUEL BYPASSING THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. THE TECHNICIANS STATED THERE WAS NO REPAIR TO RESOLVE THE SMELL EMITTED IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,695. UPDATED 9/13/11 *CN THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALER WAS ALSO ABLE TO SMELL THE EXHAUST FUMES INSIDE THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 10/28/11

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 11/15/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/17/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10410059

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT PRIOR WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE ENGINE PIN CONNECTOR WAS FAULTY AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 800.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/25/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/30/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10407473

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Details: TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED SINCE THE DATE OF PURCHASE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. ON JUNE 13, 2011, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL AND AVOID CRASHING INTO A POLE. THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST THAT LOCATED A LEAK IN THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN INFORMATION WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE ANY RELATED RECALLS AND THEY WOULD CALL HER BACK. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 2,090.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/13/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10406296

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Details: ENGINE FAILED SINCE NEW. MANY TRIPS TO DEALER ENDED IN COMPLETE TEAR DOWN. BLOWS SMOKE CLOUDS ON THE HIGHWAY.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/16/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/6/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10381191

Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Details: SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT. MY 2011 EDGE WAS 3 WEEKS OLD WHEN THIS LIGHT CAME ON ONE MORNING AND STAYED ON. I WAS INFORMED THAT THEY HAD TO CALL FORD HOTLINE FOR A RESOLUTION AND THEY TOLD THEM TO REPROGRAM THE COMPUTER. 3 MONTHS LATER, MY LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DROPPED MY CAR TO THE DEALER YESTERDAY - SAME THING, HAD TO CALL FORD HOTLINE FOR A RESOLUTION. I STILL DO NOT HAVE MY CAR BACK BECAUSE THE HOTLINE HASNT RESPONDED. I DONT KNOW IF THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH MY CAR OR WHY THE ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS GOING OFF. IT WORRIES ME THAT SOMETHING IS SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THIS AUTO I PURCHASED 10/15/10. I ALSO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE SYNC CONTROLS GOING WILD - VOLUME STICKS AND GOES OFF OR FULL BLAST - SYSTEM RESETS ITSELF ON ITS OWN AND GOES BACK TO DEFAULT SCREENS ON EITHER SIDE OF SPEEDOMETER INSTEAD OF WHAT I SELECTED, ETC. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/07/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/8/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

5
Equipment Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10418053

Component: EQUIPMENT

Details: FORD SYNC SYSTEM HAS BEEN FREEZING, BACK UP CAMERA BLACKING OUT, GPS STALLING. CAR HAS BEEN RETURNED TO DEALER 3 TIMES FOR A REBOOT SYSTEM. DEALER SAID IT HAS TO DO WITH THE NEW SYSTEM AND THERE BEING BUGS. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 07/28/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/8/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10393012

Component: EQUIPMENT

Details: FORDS SYNC SYSTEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD. IT DOES NOT WORK AS ADVERTISED, CONSTANTLY CRASHES AND IS A GRAVE DISTRACTION FOR DRIVERS. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 11/20/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/27/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10392438

Component: EQUIPMENT

Details: 2011 FORD EDGE LIMITED WITH MYFORD TOUCH SYSTEM. TOOK DELIVERY OF THIS VEHICLE ON 2/23/11. SINCE, THE MYFORD TOUCH SYSTEM HAS EITHER OPERATED ON A VERY LIMITED BASIS, OR, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, HAS BEEN ENTIRELY INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT FROM 3/10/11 - 3/17/11 AND UPON FURTHER FAILURE OF THE SYSTEM, WE PICKED UP ONCE AGAIN BY THE DEALER ON 3/21/11 WHERE IT REMAINS, AWAITING AN INSPECTION BY A FORD FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER. THE DEALER INITIALLY RE-PROGRAMMED THE SYSTEM, WHICH FAILED, ATTEMPTED TO UPGRADE THE SYSTEM SOFTWARE TO V2.7, WITH NO SUCCESS AND THEN REPLACED THE APIM (AUDIO PROTOCOL INTERFACE MODULE) 3 TIMES, WITHOUT SUCCESS. AFTER E-MAILS TO KEY CONTACTS AT FORD, WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM FORDS EXECUTIVE OFFICES, WHO ARE NOW COORDINATION THE FURTHER REPAIR ATTEMPTS. HAVE BEEN ADVISED THAT IF REPAIRS DO NOT REMEDY THE PROBLEM, THAT THEY WILL HAVE TO CONSIDER OTHER ALTERNATIVES. WE ASSUME THAT IS REPLACING THE VEHICLE, BUT THEY WOULD NOT YET COMMIT TO SUCH. THIS ISSUE HAS LEFT US WITH AN ENTIRE LACK OF FAITH IN FORD AND THE QUALITY OF ITS VEHICLES.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/23/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/22/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10368439

Component: EQUIPMENT

Details: I HAVE OWNED A 2011 FORD EDGE NOW FOR ALMOST 2 MONTHS, THIS CAME WITH THE MYFORD TOUCH SYSTEM WITH SYNC SERVICES. THIS SERVICE HAS YET TO WORK. AFTER HAVING THE DEALER HAVE IT FOR A DAY, THEY COME BACK AND SAY ITS A FORD PROBLEM THAT THEY ARE LOOKING INTO. I CALL SYNC SERVICE AND THEY SAY THE DEALER ONLY HAS TO FLASH THE MEMORY AND THIS WILL FIX IT. THE DEALER DOESNT HAVE THE TOOLS TO DO THIS YET. I WAS EVEN TOLD TO TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND THIS IS HOW I FOUND OUT THEY NEED TO ORDER CABLES. THEY STILL HAVE NOT GOT THESE AND I WAS TOLD EVEN AFTER THEY GET THEM NOW, NOT TO WORK ON ANY VEHICLES TILL FORD GETS A FIX FOR IT. WHY WAS THIS SYSTEM EVEN PUT INTO THE MARKET IF THEY HAVE THESE ISSUES!!! HOW MUCH LONGER DO WE HAVE TO WAIT ON THIS AND WHAT KIND OF RESTITUTION SHOULD BE GIVEN TO THE PEOPLE WITH THIS VEHICLE THAT WAS BOUGHT WITH THIS SYSTEM THAT DOESNT WORK. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 10/09/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 11/30/2010

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10365783

Component: EQUIPMENT

Details: THIS IS A PREEMPTIVE COMPLAINT, AS I THANKFULLY HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET. THE MYFORDTOUCH SYSTEM IN ALL 2011 FORD MOTOR CO VEHICLES ARE DEFECTIVE. THE SYSTEM HAS A MULTITUDE OF DEFECTS, BUT THE SAFETY RELATED DEFECT IS THAT THE SYSTEM CAN SPONTANEOUSLY REBOOT AT ANY TIME WITH NO WARNING TO THE DRIVER. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT RANDOM, AND MULTIPLE TIMES WITHIN A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. WHEN BACKING UP THIS SHUTS DOWN THE BACKUP CAMERA WHICH COULD RESULT IN INJURIES TO CHILDREN WHO GET BEHIND THE VEHICLE. AT NIGHT THIS CAUSES THE SCREEN TO SUDDENLY GO FULL WHITE AT FULL BACKLIGHT, WHICH IS EXTREMELY DISTRACTING TO A DRIVER AT NIGHT. ANOTHER SAFETY ISSUE WOULD BE WHEN THE SYSTEM REBOOTS WHEN THE DRIVE IS BEING GUIDED TO AN EMERGENCY FACILITY OR IS ON THE PHONE WITH 911. FORD ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEMS TO DEALERSHIPS ON OCT 20TH AND INFORMED THEM NOT TO DO ANYTHING AT THIS TIME. MANY CUSTOMERS HAVE BEEN REPORTING THESE PROBLEMS ON THE OWNER2OWNER WEBSITE FOR THE FORD SYNC SYSTEM. I AM SUBMITTING THIS COMPLAINT IN HOPES IT CAN BE DEALT WITH BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT RATHER THAN AFTER. THANK YOU *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 10/20/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 11/15/2010

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

1
Fuel, Exhaust, Emissions Control Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10397034

Component: FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Details: 1. LEASED CAR ON 12/31/2010, THE SYNC FAILED AND SCREEN WENT BLANK WHILE DRIVING. 2. BACKED OUT OF DRIVEWAY AND REAR CAMERA FROZE. 3. DOORS AND HOOD OUT OF LINE 4. GAS TANK LEAK, DEALER DOESNT KNOW WHEN THEY CAN GET A PART. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/14/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 4/21/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

5
Interior System Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10471837

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 1 MPH, THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY INCREASED ACCELERATION AND THEN CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURY TO THE SHOULDER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER AND REPAIRED FOR THE EXTERIOR BODY DAMAGES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 1
Fail Date: 06/23/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/22/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10461537

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Details: LETTER FROM CONGRESSMAN KING ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT REGARDING HER ISSUE WITH THE 2011 FORD EDGE; PLEASE RESPOND TO MASSAPEQUA PARK DISTRICT OFFICE AT 1003 PARK BLVD., MASSAPEQUA PARK, NEW YORK 11762 *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FROM 30 MPH TO 90 MPH. THE CONSUMER WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. WHEN THE SERVICE TECH DROVE THE VEHICLE INTO THE BAY, THE VEHICLE WAS STILL ACCELERATING. THE DEALER PERFORMED TESTS, BUT THEY DID NOT MAKE ANY REPAIRS. *JB

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 05/07/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/8/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10460690

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE TRAVELED ANOTHER 15 MILES AT 65 MPH BEFORE STALLING AGAIN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS AND THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 54,917.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 05/29/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/5/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10453005

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO REV UP AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED IN REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY TO 35 MPH. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SPIN AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A MOTOR HOME. THE POLICE REPORTED TO THE SCENE AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED INJURIES AND BRUISING TO HIS RIBS, ARMS, LEGS, AND HEAD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 1
Fail Date: 03/24/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/26/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10435524

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD INTERMITTENTLY SURGE FORWARD WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. THE VEHICLE WOULD CONTINUE TO ACCELERATE UNTIL THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000. A FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE; REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED WHICH CORRECTED THE CONCERNS. FORD MOTOR CO INFORMED THE CONSUMER THAT THEY WILL NOT ISSUE ANY TYPE OF REFUND. HOWEVER, THE CONSUMER STATED NOTHING HAS BEEN SETTLED AND FORD RESPONDED WITH AN OFFER LETTER OF A FIVE YEAR WARRANTY. UPDATED EVOQ 02/24/12

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/11/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 11/14/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

0
Lighting and Communications System Reports         No Reports       
4
Misc. Component Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10406568

Component: UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Details: THE SYNC SYSTEM IS CONSISTENTLY LOCKING UP, THE MUSIC PLAYS WHEN THE DASHBOARD STATES THE AUDIO IS OFF, WHEN THIS HAPPENS NONE OF THE BUTTOMS WORK. I HAVE BEEN PULLING OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO TURN MY VEHICLE OFF, OPEN THE DOOR TO MAKE THE SCREEN CLEAR, THIS DOES NOT WORK. THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE SYNC SYSTEM WILL RE-BOOT ITSELF AND THEN IT WORKS AGAIN. THE BLUETOOTH SYSTEM IS ALWAYS DISCONNECTING MY PHONE OR I CALL SOMEONE AND I CANT HEAR THEM, TO THE POINT I DONT EVEN USE THE BLUETOOTH ANYMORE. WHEN THE MOTOR IS SHUT OFF AND YOU OPEN THE VEHICLES DOOR THE SCREEN SHOULD COME UP WITH FORD EMBLEM. THE SYNC SYSTEM LOCKING UP INCIDENT HAS OCCURRED 3 TIMES AND IM FIXING TO TAKE IT IN AGAIN. ITS ALWAYS BEEN THE SAME ANSWER THERE WAS AN UPDATE THAT NEEDED TO BE DONE. IT IS FORDS RESPONSIBILITY TO MAKE WHEN A VEHICLE IS SOLD NEW FOR $40K, THAT IT WORKS. OF COURSE I STILL HAVE TO MAKE MY MONTHLY PAYMENT TO FORD, IF THIS CONTINUES IM GOING TO LOOK INTO THE LEMON LAW BECAUSE THIS IS RIDICULOUS.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/05/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/12/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10404629

Component: UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Details: DRIVING AND TRANSMISSION DROPS HARD. I THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES TYPICALLY WHEN FOOT IT OFF GAS. SAFETY CONCERN AS THE DROP IS SO SEVERE, SOMETIMES IT DOES THIS TWO TO THREE TIMES IN A ROW. VEHICLE TENDS TO BUCK IN EXTREME. DEALER CANT "RECREATE" PROBLEM. DEALER REPLACED THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ON 5/19 STILL HAVE ISSUES. VEHICLE WILL BE IN TO DEALER FOR 4TH TIME IN ONE MONTH.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/20/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/28/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10366065

Component: UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Details: MY FORD TOUCH VOICE COMMANDS THAT CONTROL HANDS-FREE PHONE, CLIMATE, NAVIGATION, AND AUDIO DO NOT WORK RELIABLY AND CONSISTENTLY CAUSING INCREASED DRIVER DISTRACTION AND FRUSTRATION EITHER IN PARKED POSITION OR AT HIGHWAY SPEED. ACTUAL VOICE COMMANDS THAT WORK VARY FROM SPECIFIC COMMAND LISTS IN MANUAL (BOTH V1 AND V2) INCLUDING SUPPLEMENT. THE SAME COMMANDS DO NOT WORK TWICE. SD NAVI SYSTEM WITH TRAFFIC ALERTS IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD IN URBAN AND HIGHWAY ENVIRONS. THE SYSTEM PRESENTS MYRIAD TRAFFIC ALERTS. NO VOICE COMMAND IS AVAILABLE TO SELECT "AVOID/IGNORE/DETAILS AND SHOULD BE. ONE MUST VISUALLY DISTRACT EYES FROM WINDSHIELD/ROAD TO TOUCH THE CENTER STACK CONSOLE DISPLAY SCREEN TO RETURN TO NAVIGATION MAP. THIS IS A SAFETY RISK AND WILL RESULT IN TRAFFIC CRASH. REPORTED TO FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY DO NOT SEEM CONCERNED.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 10/15/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 11/9/2010

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10364410

Component: UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Details: BEFORE LEAVING MY HOME, I TRIED UNSUCCESSFULLY TO PROGRAM THE BUILT-IN GPS TO GUIDE ME TO MY DESTINATION. AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 12 MILES, I STOPPED AT A REST STOP. UPON RESTARTING MY VEHICLE, THE ENTIRE ELECTRONIC DISPLAY INCLUDING RADIO, CLIMATE CONTROL, BACK-UP CAMERA, GPS AND OTHER SAFETY FEATURES FAILED TO WORK WHATSOEVER. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE TO THE DEALER WHO INFORMED ME THAT THERE WOULD NOT BE A FOX FOR THIS FOR AT LEAST TWO WEEKS AND THAT ALL OF HIS OTHER 2011 EDGE CUSTOMERS WERE SUFFERING THE SAME PROBLEM. CALLING FORD CORPORATE, I WAS MET WITH EVEN LESS DETAIL ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THEY PRETENDED THAT I AM THE ONLY CUSTOMER WITH THIS PROBLEM. ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE IS DRIVABLE, THAT IS ALL IT CAN DO AND FRANKLY, I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT BECAUSE I DONT WHAT ELSE MAY SIMPLY STOP WORKING. FORD REFUSED MY REQUEST FOR A LOANER VEHICLE UNTIL THIS IS RESOLVED.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 10/28/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 10/31/2010

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

6
Power Train Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10472697

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, ENGINE SHUTDOWN AND VEHICLE HAD IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER. NO VISIBLE ALERT FOR SURROUNDING TRAFFIC TO AVOID COLLISION. ENGINE DID NOT TURN OFF, BUT ACCELERATION WAS NOT POSSIBLE. I TURNED THE CAR COMPLETELY OFF, WAITED A FEW MINUTES, RESTARTED, AND WAS ABLE TO PROCEED AT NORMAL SPEED ONTO THE INTERSTATE BEFORE IT OCCURRED AGAIN. DEALERSHIP THOUGHT THEY HAD IT FIXED ON MONDAY. THEY SAID IT WAS A COMPUTER COMMUNICATION ISSUE AND THEY RESET IT. THEIR TEST DRIVER HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO THE SHOP. NEXT DAY, THEY REPEATED YESTERDAYS FIX, TOLD ME TO PICK IT UP. I HAD A FRIEND DRIVE IT, WHILE I FOLLOWED. WE MADE IT 5 MILES BEFORE IT SHUT DOWN ON THE INTERSTATE DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I USED MY TRUCK TO BLOCK TRAFFIC SO WE COULD MAKE IT TO THE MEDIAN. DEALERSHIP HAD IT TOWED BACK. ONE WEEK LATER, THE DEALER SAYS ITS THE THROTTLE BODY, BUT ARE NOT CONFIDENT IT IS SAFE TO RELEASE, AND ARE NOT POSITIVE THATS THE PROBLEM. I HAVE READ MANY BLOGS ON FORDS COMPUTER OR FUEL RELATED ISSUES THAT APPEAR SIMILAR, YET WITH SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT DIAGNOSIS. MY CONCERN IS SAFETY. I AM LOOKING FOR A SAFE VEHICLE I CAN TRADE WITH CONFIDENCE THAT IT WILL NOT CAUSE THE NEXT OWNER TO CRASH. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 08/18/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/27/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10470457

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: THIS IS THE 3RD TIME IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS THAT MY FORD EDGE HAS STALLED. THE FIRST TWO TIMES WERE ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 55MPH. THIS TIME WAS IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD GOING 35MPH. CAR JUST SPORADICALLY GOES "LIMP" AND LOSES ALL ACCELERATION, WITH WRENCH LIGHT COMING ON. HAVE BEEN ABLE TO COAST TO SIDE OF ROAD EACH TIME. FORD REFUSES TO FIX. THEY KEEP SAYING THEY CANT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. IM GOING TO GET KILLED IN THIS CAR IF SOMETHING ISNT DONE ABOUT IT. APPARENTLY IM NOT THE ONLY CONSUMER WITH THIS ISSUE. *TR

Occurrences: 3 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 08/11/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/13/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10463527

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EMITTED A LOUD BANGING NOISE WHILE CHANGING GEARS AND THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 07/01/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 6/29/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10459745

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: WAS DRIVING IN MORNING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC GOING ABOUT 50MPH ON A HIGHWAY. CAR LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND WENT "LIMP" WITHOUT ANY NOTICE. WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. WAS ABLE TO GET CAR TO SIDE OF ROAD BEFORE IT COMPLETELY STOPPED. IT WAS VERY FRIGHTENING AS CARS WERE CLOSE BEHIND ME AND COULD HAVE EASILY REAR-ENDED ME. HUSBAND CAME TO THE SCENE AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART CAR AND DRIVE IT. SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD CAR TOWED TO LOCAL SHOP OWNED BY FORD DEALER. THEY CONCLUDED THAT WE HAD CARBON BUILD UP IN THE FUEL SYSTEM THAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. THEY CLEANED OUT THE "GUNK" AND CHARGED US $350. FOUR DAYS LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME I HAD BOTH OF MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND MY DOG. CAR LOST ALL ACCELERATION IN THE MIDDLE OF 5PM TRAFFIC! WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER IN SHOPPING CENTER BEFORE IT COMPLETELY DIED. TOWED IT BACK TO DEALER. THIS TIME THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM, BUT RECALIBRATED IT (WHATEVER "IT" IS). IM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR AGAIN FOR FEAR THAT IT WILL HAPPEN WHEN IM GOING 65MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY! ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT HAPPENS AGAIN. FORD NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM. FROM WHAT I READ, IT HAS HAPPENED TO MANY OF THEIR MODELS AND HAS TYPICALLY INVOLVED THE THROTTLE BODY. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 05/14/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/26/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10454400

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: AFTER BUYING MY 2011 FORD EDGE FROM CARMAX AND DRIVING IT FOR 35 DAYS, MY CAR STARTED TO HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. IT WAS CLANKING, SLOW ACCELERATING, VIBRATING, WHEN YOU WOULD STOP IT WOULDNT PROCEED WHEN GAS APPLIED UNTIL IT WOULD LOUDLY THUMP AND LURCH FORWARD. HAD IT TOWED TO DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED IT NEEDED THE PART (AT4Z7251A). THE PROBLEM IS THERE ARE ONLY 2 (AT4Z7251A) IN THE WHOLE UNITED STATES! THOSE ARE ON HOLD FOR CUSTOMERS OR THEY APPEAR IN INVENTORY ON COMPUTER BUT THEY ARE NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. IT ALSO APPEARS THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN ON BACK ORDER FOR A VERY VERY VERY LONG TIME .I JUST CANT BELIEVE THAT I AM THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM SINCE THIS PART IS USED FOR AT LEAST 5 DIFFERENT TYPE FORD CARS. MY CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR A MONTH WAITING FOR THE PART. AFTER READING OTHER OWNER PROBLEMS SIMILAR TO MINE THERE NEEDS TO BE SOMETHING DONE BY THE FORD CORPORATION. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE TO HAVE TO WAIT FOR A PART WITH NO ETA . *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/05/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 4/6/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10454238

Component: POWER TRAIN

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER PAKING ON AN INCLINE AND RELEASING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 26,000. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 05/24/12*LJ

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/04/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 4/5/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

8
Steering Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10455093

Component: STEERING

Details: WHEN FACED WITH A SITUATION THAT REQUIRES BRISK ACCELLERATION, IE., PASSING, THE CAR EXHIBITS A STRONG TENDENCY TO STEER TO THE RIGHT, TORQUE STEER. THIS HAS OCCURED AT A LEVEL THAT CAUSES THE DRIVER TO IMMEDIATELY TAKE HIS FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL CAUSING A REVERSAL OF THE DIRECTION THE CAR WANTS TO GO, RIGHT TO LEFT, AND JEOPARDIZES THE COMPLETION OF THE PASSING MOVE. AS THIS OCCURS WITH THE VEHICLE IN THE OPPOSITE LANE, ONCOMING TRAFFIC, THE CARS OCCUPANTS CONTINED SAFETY COMES INTO QUESTION. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/09/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 4/13/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10402246

Component: STEERING

Details: DURING ACCELERATION, VEHICLE PULLS TO THE RIGHT WITH STEERING WHEEL TURN TO THE RIGHT. PULLING HAPPENS REGARDLESS OF ACCELERATING FROM STOP OR MOVING. THE HARDER THE ACCELERATION, THE HARDER THE PULL. DURING COASTING AND BRAKING, VEHICLE TRAVELS STRAIGHT. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 05/17/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10400594

Component: STEERING

Details: I PURCHASED A 2011 FORD EDGE LIMITED. WITHIN 2 WEEKS I NOTICED THE CAR WAS VEERING TO THE RIGHT. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND A 4 WHEEL ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED. I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR BACK WITHIN A FEW DAYS AS THE CAR WAS STILL PULLING TO THE RIGHT. A 2ND ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED. A FEW DAYS LATER I TOOK IT BACK AGAIN AS THE CAR WAS STILL VEERING TO THE RIGHT. THIS TIME THE SERVICE MANAGER CAME TO ME AND SAID I FOUND THE FIX ON THE FORD INNER COMPANY MEMO. HE THEN PERFORMED A SUB FRAME ADJUSTMENT. THE CAR STILL VEERS TO THE RIGHT AND I TOOK IT IN ONCE AGAIN AND A 3RD WHEEL ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED. AFTER EACH WHEEL ALIGNMENT I WAS INFORMED AN ADJUSTMENT WAS MADE, SOMETHING WAS "OUT OF WHACK" I EVEN TOOK A SALESMAN FOR A TEST DRIVE IN A DIFFERENT EDGE CAR FROM THE LOT AND THE CAR VEERED TO THE RIGHT. I HAVE SPOKEN TO THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND SHE HAS MENTIONED THAT OTHER EDGE OWNERS HAVE BROUGHT THEIR CAR IN FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AS WELL AS LINCOLN CUSTOMERS. THERE ARE ALSO SEVERE PROBLEMS WITH THE FORD MY TOUCH SYNC SYSTEM. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN 3 DIFFERENT TIMES FOR UPDATES. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THESE UPDATES WILL NOT FIX THE PROBLEMS AND THAT THERE ARE AT LEAST 6-10 MORE UPDATES NEEDED TO HOPEFULLY FIX ALL THE PROBLEMS. I BELIEVE THE CAR PULLING TO THE RIGHT IS A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/01/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/12/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10399340

Component: STEERING

Details: TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 10-20 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ONTO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. UPON RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL FUNCTIONED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE PTU ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. THE SIMILAR FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT PLANNED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND RECOMMENDED THAT THE FAILURE BE DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 9,000.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 04/06/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 5/6/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10383412

Component: STEERING

Details: MY VEHICLE IS A FORD EDGE 2011. I JUST RECEIVED THIS FLEET VEHICLE IN DECEMBER. RECENTLY (FEBRUARY) NOTICED THE ALIGNMENT WAS DRASTICALLY OFF. IN ORDER TO GO STRAIGHT, THE WHEEL WAS CRANKED ALL THE WAY TO THE LEFT. I TOOK IT INTO FIRESTONE REDONDO BEACH TO GET CHECKED FOR ALIGNMENT WHEN THEY INFORMED ME THAT THERE WAS NO WAY A POT HOLE OR BUMP CHANGED THE ALIGNMENT BY THAT MUCH. THEY STATED THAT THE JAM NUT ON THE LEFT SIDE TIE ROD WAS LOOSE. TO FIX THIS, THIS WAS TIGHTENED AND ALIGNMENT TOE SET. HOWEVER, THIS IS ALARMING CONSIDERING THAT THIS WAS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE. AS STATED BY THE TECHNICIAN, IT WAS CLEAR THAT THE ROD WAS SET BUT NOT ACTUALLY TIGHTENED. THIS COULD HAVE LED TO A SIGNIFICANT ACCIDENT WITH LOSS OF STEERING HAD I NOT GOTTEN IT FIXED IN TIME. THIS WAS DEFINITELY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND A SCARY ONE FOR LACK OF QUALITY CHECKS. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 02/19/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10381213

Component: STEERING

Details: 2011 FORD EDGE. FROM THE TIME THAT I TOOK POSSESSION OF THIS NEW VEHICLE, IT HAS DRIFTED OR PULLED TO THE RIGHT. IT WILL MOVE ABOUT 5 FEET IN A MATTER OF 50 TO 75 FEET IN MOVING DIRECTION. THE DEALER SHIP SERVICE MANAGER STATES , IT IS IN SPECIFICATION". IN 560 YEARS OF TRAVELING IN MY WORK AND WITH 28 DIFFERENT VEHICLES, I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS SITUATION THAT COULD NOT BE CORRECTED.. ANOTHER STATEMENT BY THE SERVICE MANAGER WAS THAT ANOTHER AUTO LINE OWNED BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND THEIR ENGINEERS HELPED TO DESIGN AND ENGINEER THE ALL WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE, THE 2011 FORD EDGE. I HAVE HQD THIS VEHICLE ON TWO DIFFERENT TRIPS ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS, A GOOD FLAT SURFACE AND WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR HANDS SLIGHTLY OFF THE STEERING WHEEL, THE DRIFTING STARTS IMMEDIATELY. I ABSOLUTELY BELIEVE THIS IS A FAULT IN THIS CAR AND CAN BE CORRECTED, EVEN IF IT REQUIRES A RECALL. WHEN I HAD MY CAR IN THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THE SERVICE MANAGER DROVE THIS VEHICLE, HE CAME BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, TOOK ANOTHER BRAND NEW FORD EDGE OFF OF THE LOT AND WE RODE IN IT AND IT DID THE SAME THING, DRIFTING OR PULLING TO THE RIGHT, THEREFORE THE REASON I BELIEVE FOR HIS STATEMENT THAT THE CAR WAS IN ITS "TOLERANCE". THE VEHICLE PURCHASED AT KEN WILSON FORD, DEALERSHIP, IN CANTON, NORTH CAROLINA. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 12/15/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/8/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10380973

Component: STEERING

Details: TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE, IT WOULD DRIFT SHARPLY TO THE RIGHT IF HIS HANDS WERE NOT ON THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT IT OCCURRED WHEN A VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH ALL-WHEEL DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,400 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 2,700.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 01/06/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 2/7/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10380359

Component: STEERING

Details: VEHICLE PURCHASED NEW, DRIVEN 890 MILES IN FIRST TRIP. VEHICLE HAS DRAMATIC PULL TO THE RIGHT. CONSTANT LEFT STEERING INPUT FOR VEHICLE TO REMAIN ON ROADWAY. DEALER ADJUSTED ALIGNMENT , BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO CORRECT. DEALER AND FORD REPRESENTATIVE INDICATE THAT THAT IS THE LIMIT OF THE DESIGN AND FORD IS UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PULL. COMPLETE ATTENTION AND GRIP ON THE STEERING WHEEL WITH CONSTANT LEFT INPUT IS VERY TIRING AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY AS A NEAR MISS OF A PARKED CAR ON AN I-20 AT NIGHT WAS EXPERIENCED. JUST A SLIGHT INATTENTION OF THE LEFT INPUT CAUSED THE CAR TO DRIFT OUT OF THE TRAVEL LANE AND ONTO THE EDGE OF THE SHOULDER. THIS WILL ULTIMATELY CAUSE SOMEONE TO LOSE THEIR LIFE OR BE INJURED. AS SPEED INCREASES TO HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE REACTION TIME TO MAKE CONSTANT CORRECTIONS IS REDUCED. NUMEROUS INSTANCES OF THE RIGHT PULL HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED TO FORD DEALERS FROM 2007. FORD HAD ISSUED A TSB IN 2008 BUT THIS DID NOT FIX OR CORRECT THE DESIGN DEFICIENCY. NO CASTER ADJUSTMENTS ARE PROVIDED IN THE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE AXLE, ONLY TOE ADJUSTMENTS. IMPROPER TOE ADJUSTMENTS CAN BE ACHIEVED BUT SIGNIFICANT TIRE WEAR IS INDUCED. THIS TOE ADJUSTMENT HAS TO BE READJUSTED TO AN OUT OF TOLERANCE CONDITION EVERY TIME A TIRE SET IS CHANGED.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 11/27/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 1/28/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

1
Structure Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10475642

Component: STRUCTURE:BODY

Details: TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THE LIFT-GATE LOCK WAS NOT LOCKING THE VEHICLE. THIS CAUSES ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE VEHICLE TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000. MW

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 09/01/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 9/17/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

1
Suspension, Wheel, Tire Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10422334

Component: TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Details: FAULTY VEHICLE TPMS SYTTEMS. THEY BECOME BRITTLE AND WHEN YOU TRY TO CHECK THE AIR IN THE TIRE THEY CAN BREAK. THE MATERIALS USED ARE VERY CHEAP AND ARE UNSAFE. IF YOU BREAK ONE OR CRACK ONE YOU LOOSE ALL THE AIR IN THE TIRE. AS A AUTOMOTIVE LUBRICATION CENTER OWNER IT FALLS UPON MY STORE TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT IS DEFINATELY A DESIGN PROBLEM FROM THE VEHICLE MANUAFACTURER. *TT

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 08/28/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/28/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.

5
Visual System Reports Read Now  Close

Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10469307

Component: VISIBILITY/WIPER

Details: TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN SHE NOTICED THAT THE REAR WINDSHIELD WAS SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONE YEAR LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,219.

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 06/02/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 8/6/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10452389

Component: VISIBILITY

Details: THE WINDOW CRACKED FROM BOTTOM UPWARDS FOR NO APPARENT REASON. DOOR WAS NOT CLOSED HARD OR "SLAMMED". NOTHING HIT WINDOW. JUST CRACKED. *KB

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 03/18/2012 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 3/20/2012

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10426534

Component: VISIBILITY

Details: WE HAVE A 2011 FORD EDGE LIMITED WHICH SOMEONE THREW A 3" DIAMETER ROCK AT THE DRIVER SIDE GLASS. IT WAS NOTED GLASS WAS NOT TEMPERED BUT HAD A SOUND PROOFING LAMINATE IN MIDDLE OF GLASS. PRODUCE LARGE QUANTITIES OF SHARP GLASS SPLINTERS THROUGHOUT CABIN AND KEPT WINDOW GLASS INTACT. MY CONCERN IS THAT YOU COULD BE INJURED SEVERELY BY THE SHARP GLASS SPLINTERS FROM ANY OF THE WINDOWS SMASHING IN ACCIDENT. LASTLY, HOW DO YOU GET A PERSON OUT IF TRAPPED UNDER WATER WHEN LAMINATE IS HOLDING GLASS TOGETHER. WHAT IF YOU HAD TO RESCUE SOMEONE AND HAD TO SMASH GLASS, YOU COULD POTENTIALLY INJURE OCCUPANTS SEVERELY!!!! *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 09/16/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 9/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10413840

Component: VISIBILITY

Details: ON JULY 19TH, 2011 WHILE DRIVING SOUTH BOUND ON FOLLY ROAD IN CHARLESTON, SC I WAS SLOWING DOWN TOWARDS THE INTERSECTION W/ FORT JOHNSON ROAD. I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30MPH WHEN I HEARD A VERY LARGE POP OR EXPLOSION LIKE SOUND. AFTER A SECOND OR TWO, I NOTICED SHARDS OF GLASS FALLING OFF THE ROOF OVER THE BACK WINDOW. I PULLED OVER INTO A LOT AND FOUND THE REAR MOST FIXED GLASS ROOF PANEL (OF THE PANORAMIC VISTA ROOF) HAD COMPLETELY SHATTERED. THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP INDICATED THAT FORD WILL NOT TREAT THIS AS A WARRANTY COVERED ITEM. THE VEHICLE WAS BRAND NEW, BOUGHT ONLY 4 DAYS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT. I HAVE FORMALLY SUBMITTED A COMPLAINT WITH FORD AND AM SUPPOSED TO RECEIVE A RESPONSE IN 15 DAYS. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO FILE AN INSURANCE CLAIM IN THE MEANTIME - THE VEHICLE CAN NOT BE DRIVEN AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THIS HAS APPARENTLY HAPPENED IN OTHER PANORAMIC VISTA ROOFS FROM FORD, AND JUST LIKE IN THIS CASE IT HAPPENED SPONTANEOUSLY AND WITHOUT ANY IMPACT FROM ANY OBJECT. *KB

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 07/19/2011 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 7/20/2011

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


Yes, include on Custom Report

CONSUMER COMPLAINT: ODI Case Number: 10370847

Component: VISIBILITY

Details: SYNC/MY TOUCH CONSOLE ON 2011 FORD EDGE LOCKS UP OR GOES DEAD. THERE IS NO WAY TO ACTIVATE THE WINDSHIELD DEFROST WITHOUT THE TOUCH SCREEN. DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN UNABLE TO UNLOCK SCREEN. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN WIDELY REPORTED ON OWNERS WEBSITE FOR THE 2011 EDGES, BUT FORD DOES NOT SEEM TO HAVE A FIX FOR IT. IT IS WINTER AND I NEED TO RUN DEFROST. *TR

Occurrences: 1 Injuries: 0
Fail Date: 12/10/2010 Deaths: 0
Date added to database: 12/15/2010

[FILE] your own complaint on this model car.


         

NOTE: Any and all 2011 Demo Car Consumer Complaints have been filed with the National Highway Safety and Traffic Administration. They are carefully reviewed by the Office Defects Investigation (ODI) to determine whether a defect trend may exist. NHTSA is authorized to order Demo to issue a recall based on their findings. Special Note: Consumer Complaints often tell a revealing story when the same complaint is reported by several people. File your own consumer complaint now.


[Car Buzz Lists | Car Recall Scoreboards | Tips for Car Reports | Car Warranty Facts]
[ Link Manager | Privacy Policy | myCarStats.com Facebook Pages LIKE Us On Facebook | Terms | About Us | Contact Us]

-- All Car Reports and CarStats powered by myCarStats technology
Some Car Report data has been derived from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
© Copyright myCarStats.com™, LLC All rights reserved

myCarStats.com Facebook Pages